Elmer Township Meeting October 16, 2017 Minutes

Meeting called to order at 7:00 pm

Members Present: Marty Galbraith, Supervisor; Jeanie Smith, Clerk; Jenni Layman, Treasurer; Sue Stenson, Trustee; Richard Ellis, Trustee

Number of non-members present: 2

September 18, 2017 minutes approved as read. Treasurer and Clerk financial reports approved as presented.

OLD BUSINESS:

New signs are up at the Transfer site and the new one for the playground will be put on the backstop of the ball diamond.

The new grill is in place in the cook shack.

New toilets are in at Highland Lumber and will be installed soon.

NEW BUSINESS:

The Health Dept inspected the outside water spigots and said they needed to have vacuum breakers put on. Marty has done that.

Drop Box: Jenni showed the board a drop box that she'd like to see installed outside the office so that people can drop off payments, ballots, etc. It will be attached to the front rail where it's easy to get to but not in the way.

The CD's at PNC Bank will roll over on Nov. 22,2017. At that time, Jenni will withdraw the funds and move them to the Mercantile Bank in Fairview.

For Mercantile Bank purposes, let it be stated that Jenni Layman, Elmer Twp Treasurer is authorized to open two CD's each for \$100,000 for a one year term. All township board members present and are listed in these minutes.

Taxes: Discussion held on residents who pay slightly less than what they actually owe for taxes. The treasurer's tax program allows up to a \$5 deficiency and will show the bill as paid in full. Jenni would like to change that amount to \$1. If a tax bill is deficient by anything over \$1 they can be billed for the remainder. The board was in agreement.

Marty will contact Carl Shirk about snowplowing again this winter.

Motion made to accept bills as presented. Jenni/Sue. All in favor. Checks # 1553 through # 1581.

Meeting adjourned 7:40 pm.

Submitted by, Jeanie Smith, Clerk

ELECTION BOARD MINUTES

10/16/2017

All members present. For the November 7, 2017 special millage election will be the following election workers: Kathy Gottschalk, Raquel Rondo, Carol Chalkey, Sondi Houlton. Submitted by,

Jeanie Smith, Clerk